Guys Listen Up…

I have been anticipating this my whole life as a mom of four girls; however,  I didn’t realize it would be like this…the day has finally arrived when my eldest daughter who’s in college gets to have her first formal male/guy/boy visitor at home…on valentines day.

Let me tell you what went wrong with the visit.

First,  it was unannounced. By this I mean he did not ask my daughter’s permission that he will come over.

      Tsk….tsk…tsk…Wrong move. She was too busy to even consider a visitor much more entertain someone who just came in crashing.

Second, he came along with some bunch of “bodyguards” (friends actually,  one being a cousin to my daughter).

         Tsk…tsk..Tsk…Another wrong move. For  someone who is strong, intelligent and driven college student like my daughter (modesty aside) .. it was a turn off.

Third, he came in prepared for a solo original performance of his life. Yes…you guess it right. He serenaded my daughter with an original composition. It was sweet and nice and romantic…but again…tsk…tsk…tsk..another wrong move.

          He scared her with his over the top romantic gesture. For a first time visit…I personally believed it was a bad idea..although in fairness he sang really well and the lyrics wasn’t even also bad.

Fourth, he was too prepared; and his actions were too choreographed.

         Well I am sure you will all agree with me if I say it is more comfortable to loosen up and just allow things to happen naturally.

Fifth, he came in with a traditional rose, chocolates and..necklace. .

          The first two items I might consider. ..the third. .I don’t understand. . Okay, I might be just too pathetic about the whole thing but come on..it was like ahhhhhh…

Lasty, and I think the gravest of all the wrong moves…he came in with a dedication written in the card that has been generically used by every boys on earth..

          Here’s what it says: “roses are red, this ink is blue; a girl stole my heart, I’m glad it’s you”………

Now guys…boys…men… tell me….

Isn’t it just right to ask  for permission when you visit a girl’s house? (Where is your courtesy?)

Isn’t it a sign of uncertainty to come over with a “bodyguard”? (What are you scared of?)

Isn’t it too “loud” to perform solo on a first visit? (Why show off when you can play it cool?)

Isn’t it awkward to come in prepared with all your “choreography? “(Haven’t you heard of “be cool”?)

Isn’t it scary to give valuable gifts on a first visit?  (What happens if you get busted, will you take it back or will the girl be obliged to give it back?)

And lastly, isn’t it pathetic to make use of a generic dedication which I bet have been used for generations? ( don’t you think its nice to write what’s in your heart?)

Well. .that’s just me…what he did might be fine with others but judging on my experiences and hearing from my friends. ..those were a “no..no..no”.

Nevertheless I wanted to say  that I think that boy is really nice and intelligent (am sure of this one). …he just need to restructure his moves next time..

The gifts....I didn't get a photograph of the chocolates;  one of my other daughters ate ot immediately after the boy left. Well what to do....It looked delicious,  she said..

The gifts….I didn’t get a photograph of the chocolates; one of my other daughters ate it immediately after the boy left.
Well what to do….It looked delicious, she said..

About michnavs

Celebrating life in rhythm and rhyme...
This entry was posted in Amazing Stories, Parenting and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Guys Listen Up…

  1. Very Interesting to read … I would be shocked seeing him.. (Have two daughters and kind of getting prepared anyways.

  2. robin says:

    Actually I admire the boy for having the will and guts to do what he did. I would even praise him and thank him for that. It only shows he is sincere with your daughter and willing to take that chance that he could be branded or perceived as “baduy” or stupid or a turn off, whatever.
    From a mother’s perspective, you could be correct but for youngsters, it would depend on what impression the girl would have for the boy regardless of those awkward, silly or bold actions. Emotions will decide over what is right or what should be proper. Falling in love at first sight could make a smart girl act stupid. If you tend to use reasons, then love is not there.

    • michnavs says:

      You’re right..honestly if I am a teener I would certainly be overwhelmed. And yes I admire the boy’s courage and guts so to say…bottomline is ..thanks so much for taking time…

Leave a Reply

