The Prom season

Yes …if you have not realized it yet, this is the season of Prom…

Belle, the prom queen; elegantly beautiful, yet, simple and modest.

Belle, the prom queen; elegantly beautiful, yet, simple and modest.

My eldest daughter is now in college..my second daughter is in her 8th grade; however, she was required to join as one of the observers…to have a glimpse of what will happen..A sort of preparation for next year…

The modestly and beautifully dressed girls from a distance. ..

The modestly and beautifully dressed girls from a distance. ..

A beautiful smile..from the sister and the students

A beautiful smile..from the sisters and the students

20140221_214436-1The event was held in a hotel…45  minutes drive away from home..as a consequence I have to send her to the hotel and of course wait patiently at the lobby. I would occasionally then visit their cafe to alternately grab a coffee and tea…

By 9 p.m. the band began to play .. I initially thought this is going to be one of those moments when I would quitely recall every single event in my life so as to ease my boredom.

Thankfully. ..this time it was different.

Let me tell you why:

For one, the hotel served a really good brewed coffee.  Grand Regale Hotel in Bacolod may not be the finest but I am delighted by the coffee they serve..I should know, I knew every bit about coffee. .

The coffee. ..the aroma brings back a lot of wonderful memories;  the taste warms my heart...

The coffee. ..the aroma brings back a lot of wonderful memories; the taste warms my heart…

Secondly, the band. I suppose they are an amateur band, but well..What better way to celebrate solitude than with music?…they’re a duo..the lead is a female and the guitarist is a male..the choices of songs were really great..it made me reconsider a singing career..

Third, to my surprise. …the ladies at the reception area ? (Five of them) were my former College students!!! and my oh my…they all remembered me..hearing them scream my name out loud…as an educator, it warms my heart to see my former students doing well in whatever chosen carreer they have. I am so happy seeing them happy and beautiful while enjoying what they are doing.

Fourth, I am glad to have found another affordable hotel within the city….Well at least, it changed my perception ….that only hotels with 5 stars alongside their names could make me enjoy a coffee break..

And lastly, the mothers…the moms…you could only imagine how happy the mothers are….seeing their daughters all dressed up beautifully for the event. In fact I bumped at a mom towards the end of the event in an emotional state. She was very happy.  So happy she was actually crying. She said; her daughter used to be a troubled teenager (she came from a different school); but now that she is enrolled in a Catholic school run by the FMA Sisters, she has improved and changed a lot… for the best!!!How amazing, isn’t?  What surprised me more was the fact that she admitted to me…. enrolling her daughter in an expensive private school is a lot of sacrifice in terms of finances, but she’s willing to sacrifice because she knew that this is something that will help her secure her daughter’s future. ..how noble. ..I admiringly salute this mom..How many more moms could do that?

The girls with the FMA Sisters..smiling beautifully. .."you are beautiful when you are simple, honest, modest and radiance in purity"...

The girls with the FMA Sisters..smiling beautifully. ..”you are beautiful when you are simple, honest, modest and radiance in purity”…

This is one wondeful night..a night filled with music..a night filled with sweet aromatic coffees. ..a night filled with beautiful stories of former students…a night filled with happy moms..a night filled with me;  just me in my table alone but happy. ..

Securely alone is a sign of happiness, contentment, and stability...in everything that you have and even in those things that you don't have...

Securely alone is a sign of happiness, contentment, and stability…in everything that you have and even in those things that you don’t have…

Oh by the way..this would have been more exciting if my beloved is seated right beside me making me blush by him simply stairing at me…yes I still do…

About michnavs

Celebrating life in rhythm and rhyme...
This entry was posted in Amazing Insights, Amazing Stories, Parenting, Travel and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

