Criminal

 

I always thought i knew

What love has done to few.

It destroyed, it smashed!

Feelings Oh! all rushed.

 

I always believed I’ve seen

What love has done to men

It broke, It burned!

Loving oh! all doomed.

 

I always thought I was right 

What I did for love so tight

I hurt you, I despised you!

Behaving like a criminal in lieu.

 

“My apologies, I love you no more dear.”

Day Five Prompt: Criminal – Fiona Apple
In response to November Notes Writing Challenge hosted by Sarah Doughty of Heartstring Eulogies and Rosema of A Reading Writer.❤

november-notes-4

About michnavs

Celebrating life in rhythm and rhyme...
This entry was posted in Amazing Insights, Amazing Stories, poetry, writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

33 Responses to Criminal

  1. sheldonk2014 says:

    It is criminal
    What happens to you
    When your in love
    And blinded by it

  2. Davy D says:

    Another great take and poem on the prompt Mich. The pain and power of love comes through in each verse.

  3. mandibelle16 says:

    This piece is powerful. No doubt love hurts more than a “few” ad that it hurts both “men” and “women” brutally. And we both do it to each other. It makes me think of another song by the country singer Dierks Bently “Its Different for Girls,” its very true showing how men and women cope differently.

  4. Sweta Ojha says:

    Powerful and beautifully written verses.🙂

  5. rosemawrites says:

    that last line is BAM, Mich!!! Love it!!!

  6. Prajakta says:

    Beautiful 😊😊

  7. Kally says:

    You’ve outdone yourself again! Love this!

  8. maria says:

    Loveeee it!! Powerful and fierce!!❤

  9. NJ says:

    This is so true. And you’ve penned it perfectly. Men and women get hurt. It’s not just one or the other. I especially loved the last line though. It ends the whole poem with perfection🙂

  10. Potent words, Mich! You’ve captured the many facets of love in this fine poem.

  11. Hi michnavs. So nice to hear from you. As I may have mentioned never really found this emotion love. But it has for many caused much pain and I guess happiness! Thank you so much for liking my poems “Warning! Road Rage! Awoke! Alerted! A Glance! London Streets! Biting Wind! Hidden! Wooden Door! and Turmoil! I may never get hundreds of likes but write what fills my mind! But even if only one person reads and enjoys my work is done. Please watch this space! Peace and Best Wishes. #TheFoureyedPoet.

Leave a Reply

