That Summer Morning

That Summer Morning

On a cold summer morning
I got my phone ringing.

Thinking twas a prank
I ignored and stared at a blank.

A return call message i received
I dialed, hoping i am not deceived.

I heard someone on the other line
Sobbing, crying, weeping in thine.

“He’s gone”, was all i can hear
I wept, i cried ’till i can’t bear.

’twas that summer morning
I heard the news of you leaving.

You left without saying goodbye
It broke my heart in pieces, i could die.

The sun was shining
But the rain came pouring.

Every drop of the rain
Is every drop of my pain.

Will someone wake me up
“You’re dreaming, get up”.

But reality holds true
You’re gone, didn’t know what to do.

Today I woke up with a rain drop falling
A reminder of how much i am longing.

For i remembered, every drop of the rain
Is every drop of my pain.

It’s been seven years dad
And i still felt bad.

On that cold summer morning
You left me while it was raining.

I miss you dad, please come back.
P.S.

The day i started my summer rain theme, was the same day i didn’t know what to write, and the very same day the first heavy summer rain fell.
As the rain came pouring, i kept writing.
Its been a month though.
You all enjoyed my summer rain theme as much as i enjoyed writing them.
Little did i know that this is not just simply about inspiration to write..or a spike for my stats…or a way to touch your hearts.

Today i woke up with a promise I’d move on to another theme.

But then i opened my window curtain and saw the rain drops falling.

And it hit me….

On this very same occassion seven years ago as i opened my window curtain looking at the summer rain falling, that i was told my dad, passed away.

Now i understand where my “summer rain” theme came all the way.

Thanks Dad, you never left me all along.

You lead me to this day. On your death anniversary. As i write each poem. I poured out every single emotion there was in me. That today, i felt a lot better. Better than those early years you were gone.

Thanks Dad… you truely are amazing..even when you are gone!!!

20170428_140933

 

63 Replies to “That Summer Morning”

  1. Oh! I am ever so sorry, Mich. You have penned this with so much love. It’s clear to see how much you love and miss your dad. Sending you loads of hugs 😘😘😘

      1. You are so blessed Mich (do I call you Mich??)–not everyone has wonderful parents, as I’m sure you must know. I wish I’d had parents that inspire “nice” poems…so much wounding still yet to be healed, and since they’re gone, there are no more chances for reconciliation.

      2. yes Mich would be fine..and I am indeed lucky to have wonderful parents. ..as to yours time heals all wounds they say…and I wish it does the same magic to you..

      3. Thank you, Mich, for your kind thoughts–I believe that we can make much good out of the hard parts of life…certainly they provide lots of inspiration for writing.

  2. oh my dear. my tears. i cannot fight back the tears. and goosebumps. wow. wow. the pain. the longing. and the hope. the love. oh my dear. he loves you. and i am sure you loves him back. huuuuugs!

  3. This had the tears flowing within me also Mich.. And those we love who have returned home often find a way to get their messages across.. And I know all your posts, you have been Healing in the Rain..
    Sending warm hugs dear friend.. Love to you xxx Sue ❀

      1. ohh thank you Rose..it will go check that out…

        my dad passed away years ago (7 years) but it felt like hust just yesterday. ..

  4. I’m so sorry for your loss
    But believe me, Ua dad will always be with you…. Right in your heart…. 😘😘…. And his love for u will sparkle with each and every heartbeat of yours πŸ’–

  5. That was such a beautifully written poem and it struck dread in me. This is my one deep-seated fear about living away from my parents in another country. Your poem captured it and I cannot even begin to imagine the pain and loss that phone call brought your way. Hugs from this new stranger.

    1. Thanks so much. ..indeed we just have to be the best kind of children to our parents whenever we have the chance…we never knew how long will they’ll be with us…and yes that phone call was and still to this date the longest most dreadful one minute call of my life…

      1. I lost my mom 3 years ago on Valentine’s day . The world is so foggy now. To lose both of my parents in a short amount of time is rough. Our loved ones are Watching Over Us and protecting us. Stay strong!

Leave a Reply

